Christmas Shopping Scrooge

Full of Christmas cheer, I went forth into the shops, and I am a person who loves Christmas.  It wasn’t long though before I was transformed into Scrooge and was muttering “Humbug” under my breath!  The queues; the unhelpful shop assistants; the grumpy faces; the children screaming; the Christmas CD playing on the tannoy; the inability to find anything decent to offer as a gift.  Grrr!

“What’s Christmas time to you but a time for paying bills without money; a time for finding yourself a year older, but not an hour richer…If I could work my will every idiot who goes about with ‘Merry Christmas’ on his lips should be boiled with his own pudding, and buried with a stake of Holly through his heart.”  Scrooge, A Christmas Carol, Dickens 

Scrooge, from Charles Dickens: A Christmas Car...

Image via Wikipedia

That was pretty much how I felt coming out of the car park (again a queue to get out!).

However, as I say, I love Christmas.  I got home and my lovely boyfriend had made me a Christmas CD which we put on; we decorated the tree and turned my flat into a Christmas grotto.

“I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year.  I will live in the Past, the Present and the Future.” As above

Leave a Reply

